Mike Pesca http://kalw.org en 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl http://kalw.org/post/5-points-help-simplify-sundays-super-bowl The chatter, hype and jargon in the weeks leading up to Sunday's Super Bowl XLVIII is more impenetrable than the Seahawk's secondary.<p>Perhaps you've heard the Seattle Seahawks have a running back who enters "Beast Mode." Maybe you've heard that the Denver Broncos' counter to Beast Mode is a defensive lineman <a href="http://sports.yahoo.com/news/from--beast-mode--to--pot-roast--to--pig---a-primer-on-super-bowl-nicknames-011914808.html">nicknamed</a> "Pot Roast."<p>Vociferously debating Beast Mode versus Pot Roast is no longer the exclusive domain of a <a href="http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Su Sun, 02 Feb 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 39167 at http://kalw.org 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl Cold Super Bowl Could Lead To More Turnovers http://kalw.org/post/super-bowl-sunday Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This Sunday's Super Bowl features the number one defense, the Seattle Seahawks, against the number one offense, the Denver Broncos and Peyton Manning. That is a surprisingly rare matchup, number one defense against number one offense. It's only happened a few times in all the Super Bowls to date. But of course that means there is a defense and an offense in the game that are not number one. NPR's Mike Pesca looks at what having greatness in one phase of the game does to the rest of the team.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: This year the Denver defense was OK. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 09:48:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 39048 at http://kalw.org NFL Thursday Matchup: 2 Losing Teams Will Still Get Ratings http://kalw.org/post/nfl-thursday-matchup-2-losing-teams-will-still-get-ratings Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It must be said the NFL game between the Houston Texans and the Jacksonville Jaguars tomorrow night, is not a marquee matchup. The Texans are two-and-10, the Jaguars look a little better, having won three of their last four games, but that was only after losing the first eight games of the season. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 09:50:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 36698 at http://kalw.org Red Sox Take One-Game Lead In World Series http://kalw.org/post/red-sox-take-one-game-lead-world-series Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The Boston Red Sox have taken a one game to none lead over St. Louis in the World Series, beating the Cardinals eight to one last night at Fenway Park. The evening started off badly for the visitors and didn't improve from there. NPR's Mike Pesca was there and has this report.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: They call it the fall classic before anyone even has a chance to judge the quality of play. Last night the Cardinals put in a performance that was classically inept. Little Leaguers the world over are schooled in avoiding the incident that befell St. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 09:10:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 34898 at http://kalw.org What To Watch For In The World Series http://kalw.org/post/what-watch-world-series Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>For the first time since 1999, the two teams with the best record in baseball will meet in the World Series. The Boston Red Sox host the St. Louis Cardinals at Fenway Park tonight.<p>Enough said, let's bring in NPR's Mike Pesca. Hey, Mike.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: Hi.<p>GREENE: You're going to be at the game.<p>PESCA: Yes.<p>GREENE: So we have the two teams with the two best records. That has to tell us something about his World Series. Wed, 23 Oct 2013 09:19:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 34840 at http://kalw.org