California Budget http://kalw.org en Today on Your Call: Who is Jerry Brown? http://kalw.org/post/today-your-call-who-jerry-brown <P>On today’s Your Call, we’ll have a conversation about Governor Jerry Brown’s record and the bills he recently signed and vetoed. Join us live at 10 or post your comment here. What do you think of Governor Brown’s strategy to turn around California’s economy? And how has he changed since he was a governor in the 1970s? Mon, 15 Oct 2012 07:00:00 +0000 Malihe Razazan 17989 at http://kalw.org Today on Your Call: Who is Jerry Brown? The price of autonomy for Oakland Unified School District http://kalw.org/post/price-autonomy-oakland-unified-school-district <p>At 8 o&rsquo;clock on a Tuesday morning, about 400 students stand at attention. They&rsquo;re outside the Fruitvale Oakland elementary school, Learning Without Limits (LWL). They recite the following vision statement, as they do every day upon arrival: &ldquo;We stand on the shoulders of those who came before us as we grow into leaders who are passionate and care about making our world better. We are equipped with skills and knowledge, filled with curiosity and we know that even when we face challenges, we will achieve!&rdquo;</p> Wed, 13 Jun 2012 21:59:36 +0000 Jordan Katz 12098 at http://kalw.org The price of autonomy for Oakland Unified School District Connecting the Dots: Top news stories for Thursday, May 31, 2012 http://kalw.org/post/connecting-dots-top-news-stories-thursday-may-31-2012 <p>(Sac Bee) // Support for the tobacco tax, Prop 29, is slowly&nbsp;<a href="http://www.sacbee.com/2012/05/31/4527326/field-poll-finds-slipping-support.html#mi_rss=Top%20Stories ">going up in smoke</a> &ndash; thanks in part to $38 million invested in advertising by tobacco companies R.J. Reynolds and Philip Morris...</p> Thu, 31 May 2012 17:24:47 +0000 Ben Trefny 11446 at http://kalw.org Connecting the Dots: Top news stories for Thursday, May 31, 2012 Connecting the Dots: Top news stories for Tuesday, May 15, 2012 http://kalw.org/post/connecting-dots-top-news-stories-tuesday-may-15-2012 <p>Bay Area News Group // Oakland&rsquo;s Oikos University lost six students in a campus massacre last month &ndash; and now students enrolled in the Oikos nursing program may <a href="http://www.insidebayarea.com/news/ci_20622282/oikos-nursing-program-put-probation-by-state?source=rss">lose their school</a> if they don&rsquo;t improve their test scores within the next two years. Administrators say they&rsquo;re working on it&hellip;</p> Tue, 15 May 2012 18:43:33 +0000 Holly McDede 10659 at http://kalw.org Connecting the Dots: Top news stories for Tuesday, May 15, 2012 The Sales Tax Debate: Amazon v. the State of California http://kalw.org/post/sales-tax-debate-amazon-v-state-california <p>Fighting use tax evaders with an audit is like trying to kill a cloud of mosquitoes with rifle. You might completely obliterate a handful of mosquitoes, but it’s not going to fix the problem.</p> Wed, 07 Dec 2011 01:07:34 +0000 Jayme Catsouphes 2477 at http://kalw.org The Sales Tax Debate: Amazon v. the State of California